Posted by: healingtheworkplace | January 17, 2010

Healing the Workplace With Yoga and Meditation

First of all I have to say “Go Canucks Go”!

I watched my favorite team beat the Pittsburgh Penguins last night. It’s always fun to watch the Canucks win but I would have liked to see Sidney Crosby score a goal or two. Sidney is a great Canadian hockey player AND he’s one of my hockey pool picks.

Second, I want to talk about YOGA. I went to a 1 and 1/2 hour yoga class yesterday morning at Steveston Yoga.

I usually do yoga at home but hadn’t been to a class for many, many years so I decided to go to Steveston Village Yoga. Yesterday’s class was wonderful (thanks Joy) and got me thinking about the importance of doing yoga at work.

For many people work is crazy these days. A friend of mine mentioned the other day that there are fewer and fewer people doing more and more of the work. Which leaves a lot of folks without jobs…which is insane but that is another story.

Actually this other story is about how the workplace in need of healing on many, many levels…but I digress.

So, for those who are literally “in the rat race” there are some things that you can do to look after yourself and yoga is one of them.

Of course it would be even better if you can get your employer onside to support you so that you could have the benefits of a trained yoga instructor.

If you need some “ammunition” when you approach your boss the Yoga Sanctuary, www.theyogasanctuary.net has this to say about the benefits of practicing yoga in the workplace:

  • improves morale
  • increases production and communicatin
  • increases concentration
  • decreases anxiety and tension
  • decreases sick time and absences
  • increases the individual’s ability to manage emotional stress

PS. While you are doing yoga you will also be meditating AND research has shown that doing meditation on a regular basis helps strengthen your immune system.

Most towns and cities offer yoga classes and yoga instructors who will be happy to come to your workplace.

Let the healing begin!

Oh, I did some work with a team re shared decision-making last week…which I will write about later this week.

Lesley

Responses

  1. I totally agree that people need to practice yoga to wind down from work and their hectic lives. As a yoga instructor myself, I have seen first hand the benefits of yoga and how it has the ability to heal. Check out my blog to see some of my personal experiences with yoga as a tool for healing and renewal. Great blog, keep it up!

    • Hi Paula, thanks for your thoughts. Stress in the workplace was the focus of two articles in my local paper this weekend. Joyce Gioia of The Herman Group believes that we have the “highest levels of stress in history” and blames much of it on what is happening in the workplace. Not too many people mention yoga though and I think that offering yoga in the workplace is a great way to help employees alleviate some of their stress. I’ll check out your blog! Cheers, Lesley


Leave a Reply

Categories

